File Explorer

You will find this module under Files and File Explorer. The same functionality applies to the file directory on the client cards (company and consumer), contacts and projects. It stores and manages files which you can use in your business.

When the file directory is loaded correctly it shows “Drag files here” lower left.
Thus, you can “drag” folders and files from the local file area (own PC) into the folder you selected in the 24SevenOffice file directory.

If you wish to duplicate a sub-folder structure (for example you may have folders per project which have the same sub-folders each time), you will need to access the main file explorer pane directly. To do this click the left double arrow by Folders in the left hand window. Select the folder you want to duplicate, right click, copy, move the cursor to a white space in the screen, right click and paste.

Settings

“Settings” is found in the top menu bar. The default setting is suitable for most people. If it is not, you are able to make changes to download, upload and display options to suit your needs.

Connect

This function allows you to add folders to the file area you are already in from other file directories in the system and thus easily move files from one file area to another.
Folders you add to a file directory from another will not remain on the relevant file directory, i.e. if you add a folder from another area to the folder in which you are working, it does not appear the next time you enter that file directory. You will need to recreate it.
The number of files managed by the folders the user has access to is set in rights management (Administration). By default, all users have access to all folders.

Editing Files

There is an important difference between “checking out” and “opening” a file.
When you wish to edit a file and save the changes, the file must be “checked out”. “Opening” opens a read only file.
Checking out is achieved by either double-clicking or using the right-click menu on the selected file. By double clicking on a file, a dialog box will open.
(Note: If you choose to tick the “Do not ask me again”; this box does not appear next time. It will repeat the action undertaken on the occasion that the user chose to select “Do not ask me again”. Thus, if one was checking out files at the time, double clicking will cause checking out every time in future.
To change it back again, so that the option box reappears each time a file is double clicked, go to Settings within File Explorer – Downloading/File editing and select “Prompt”.)

Once you have chosen to check out a file, it means that it is locked for editing by other users. That is, as long as the file is checked out by you, it is only you who can make changes to it. A temporary version of the file is stored on your computer and a padlock icon is displayed after the file name in the File Browser.
You must upload the file again after you have finished making changes to it using the button “Check in files”. Once you have checked the file back in, other users can check out the file and make changes to it.

The other option you have is to just open the file. When you click Open, you open the file to read its contents, and cannot make changes. You may “open” files without checking them out in cases where either another person has checked it out, or no-one has. The file checked out is on hold.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

 

Search

The folder view in the left column has the “Folders” and “Search”. The “Search” option allows you to search for files in the file explorer of 24SevenOffice.

Folder / File Rights

Certain permissions can be set on folders and files in relation to the persons who should have access to these. The rights are limited to whether users can access it or not, i.e. you can not determine that a user should be able to read files and not edit.
The rights are attached to “Groups”, which are set up under Administration – Groups.
Once Groups have been set up, within File Explorer, right-click on a folder/file and select “Properties”.
Under Security, you can see which groups have access to this folder/file. All new folders are created by default with access to all groups.
If you wish only certain groups to have access to certain folders/files, you go into Properties – Security and provide access by checking the group(s).