Create new project

This option can be found in the upper left corner of the main Project Management module page. Required fields for the creation of a project are Project Name and Project Number.

Project number is entered automatically based on the next available number in the project number series and you select your desired name for the project at creation. If you want to record hours or invoice against the project, you must link it to a customer. The default setting is that the project is rights managed.

When creating the project you will also be allowed create the work type(s) that will be used for registration of hours on the project, number of hours that shall be recorded against the different types of work or tasks; and if registered hours are to be approved. You can also determine the naming structure of the project, the project’s start and end date, what type of project it is, what status it has, and who is to be project manager. Most of these options can be set as default under the Project Settings menu. You can also change these settings later on the tab Properties on the actual Project.

Rights-managed vs. open project
The difference is in who has access to the project and what functionality is available.

In a rights-managed project
* Ability to use all functionality
* Access is limited to participants who are invited to the project

* External participants may be invited to the project
* Only participants who are invited to the project can record hours against the project

In an open project:
* The project is open to all users who are registered as employees within 24SevenOffice and have access to the project module
* It is not possible to invite external participants to the project
* You cannot restrict access via roles
* You cannot create tasks
* You may not use resource planning

Multi Customer
If the option for Multi Customer is checked, hours can be recorded against several different clients/customers on the same project. Once you have checked for Multi Customer, you will not link the project with any one customer when creating of the project – the linking is achieved by registering actual hours against a project and customer in Hours on your company home page, or by invoicing the registered hours. Registered hours in a Multi Customer project, can only be achieved by using the Project Module.

 

Project Settings
Project settings are linked to your user ID and lets you standardise a number of settings that are applicable when creating new projects. By defining these settings you will be able to create projects efficiently without having to fill in standard information each time.

If desired, you can change the default setting for the project after project creation by going to the tab Properties on the actual project. The choices available in the drop-down list for Types of work are created and can be edited in the Administration module> Settings> Time Register.
The choices available in drop-down list for Project type are created and can be edited in the Administration module> Settings> Project.
Please note it is only the Administrator (or SuperUser) that has access to the Administration module.

Project Roles

Only a Project administrator can access and make changes to the Project roles. Project Roles determines what access rights a participant will have in a rights-managed project. If you require more Project roles, they can be created on the basis of one of the standard roles. This is done on the Project module home page, accessing the menu for Project roles.

There are three Standard roles available in the project module.
1. Project Leader
Have access to all information on the projects. The creator of the project automatically gets this role.
2. Project Participant
Have access to: E-mail Change of participants, Change Project Plan, Change Resource, Approve hours Add hours, read the project plan, Read reports, Read and write documents and project information (properties)
Do not have access to: Invoice, Change and Changing the type of work budget.
3. Project Observer
Have access to: Add hours, read the project plan, Read and write documents and project information (properties)
Do not have access to: E-mail Change of participants, Change Project Plan, Change Resource, Approve hours, reading reports and invoices Change type of work, change the budget.